Chantal Acda – Pūwawau


Chantal Acda – Pūwawau

Recorded by Stef Kamil Carlens, Joris Caluwaerts and Martijn Groeneveld august 2019.



Chantal Acda – Pūwawau

About what we might have forgotten.

Because maybe we can do better than this.

I decided to write this biography myself because of the background of this album.

After releasing 3 solorecords ((Let Your Hands Be My Guide 2013, The Sparkle In Our Flaws 2015 and Bounce Back in 2017) and playing in several bands like Isbells, True Bypass (with Craig Ward) and Marble Sounds, I felt a great urgency in this upset world to research the connecting strength of the human voice.

In these times we seem to be in need of all that lies underneath our words. I am truly convinced it can make us understand ourselves and others. It can inspire us to reflect. We use so many words. And we have an opinion about about so many things. But is this right?

Does this come from the right place and isn’t it more deviding than helping us?  Do we really listen? Singing always took me to a place of reflection and listening. Deeply feeling and experiencing.

So, I researched 6 different subjects connected to the human voices and as a result I wrote 6 pieces of music. These were translated to a music performance.

I worked closely together with singers of Nederlands Kamerkoor NXT.

Also Valgeir Sigurdsson, known for his work with Björk and Feist, joined me in the journey by writing arrangements for choir and the ensemble.

I am proud and I feel lucky to have spent time with the following wonderful musicians and creative souls for this album.

Eric Thielemans, Laurens Smet, Jozef Dumoulin, Jeroen Stevens, Michaël Brijs, Firas Al Alwani, Beatrijs de Clerck, Katelijn Van Kerckhoven. Recorded by Stef Kamil Carlens, Joris Caluwaerts and Martijn Groeneveld august 2019.

I was looking for change.

It did for sure change me.

I am ready to listen.

Really listen. And I hope you will join me.


9 november Handelsbeurs, Gent

10 november Amok, Brugge (muzikale versie)

14 november CC Leuven, Leuven

16 november CC Hasselt, Hasselt

22 november Explore The North, Leeuwarden (NL)

23 november Theaters Tilburg NL)

30 november CC Mechelen, Mechelen

3 december De Nieuwe Nor/Intro in Situ, Heerlen (NL)

4 december Muziekgieterij, Maastricht (NL)



A1. Tuhinga

A2. Marama

A3. Taranga

B1. Waiata Tamariki

B2. Puoro

B3. Tumanako

Additional information

CD or Vinyl Version



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Chantal Acda – Pūwawau”

You may also like…